Poker Affiliate World
News Forums affiliate network Affiliate Tools Reviews

Go Back   Poker Affiliate World - Poker Affiliate Programs Discussion and Forums > Poker Affiliate Programs - Discussions for Poker Affiliates > General Poker Affiliate Discussion

General Poker Affiliate Discussion The Largest Poker Affiliate Forum in The World. Poker Affiliates, Discuss Poker Affiliate Programs and issues facing the Poker Affiliate Industry Here!

Reply
 
Social Bookmarking Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:11 PM
skits2 skits2 is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 116
Default

Hey everyone

I was checking my statcounter info and seeing where I was getting referalls from, and clicked on a link that I hadn't seen before

I came up with this

xxxhttp://www.pokerandom.com/fishlist/poker-fish-list.htmlxxx

Apparently the guy ripped off 5 or 6 pages of my site and didn't even bother to change all of the links.

His main page is here

xxxhttp://www.pokerandom.com/xxx
Check to see if anything of yours was ripped off




Also what should I do about it?

My plan is to e-mail him and say that if he doesn't take all of my content down I will contact the sites that he is promoting and tell them to cut off contact with him.

Is there any other action I should take?



Edited: Broke the links
__________________
Free Webpage Templates - free templates to start your site, updated weekly
103 Ways To Get Traffic And Monetize Your Site - Stumped on what to do to improve your site? Look here for some suggestions
Dozens of Webpage Tools - Test your site speed, check your page rank, so who is linking to you, generate **** tags, and more, all from here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:27 PM
Bryan's Avatar
Bryan Bryan is offline
BryanHauer.com
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 421
Send a message via AIM to Bryan Send a message via Yahoo to Bryan
Default

He's taken more than that from your site. He's even got articles of yours up. Although in the articles he still leaves your link. I'd still be pissed if you didn't give him permission.

Anyone who wants to check to see who else is reproducing their articles or other content should go to http://www.copyscape.com and use their easy to use tool.

Then contact the site owners and tell them to remove it immediately or you'll take legal action. (This typically is sufficient).

Eveyone takes ideas or even sometimes a look from a site they like, but actually taking the articles that someone else wrote is just not right.

Bryan
__________________
Something Sick in the Poker Industry is Coming Very Soon

And no it's not the sweet Gambling Wordpress Themes either. Also, check out my other Premium WordPress Themes!

Attention: Visit me on my news blog!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:29 PM
Bryan's Avatar
Bryan Bryan is offline
BryanHauer.com
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 421
Send a message via AIM to Bryan Send a message via Yahoo to Bryan
Default

Ok. Just noticed you do offer some free articles, but he obviously has taken a little more than that.

Bryan
__________________
Something Sick in the Poker Industry is Coming Very Soon

And no it's not the sweet Gambling Wordpress Themes either. Also, check out my other Premium WordPress Themes!

Attention: Visit me on my news blog!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:34 PM
bankrollboost.com bankrollboost.com is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

It might be possible that this person saw that you offer free content and articles under affiliate tools and thought that meant all of the things listed on that link. Maybe you should have one of the PAW admins change that information to just things you would like to share.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:05 PM
Brandon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

start out with a professional email stating he took the wrong content and direct him to the right articles. Then tell him he needs to get the other pages off his site.

No response...take action
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:36 PM
skits2 skits2 is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 116
Default

Ah - I hadn't seen that he had put up my shareware articles as well. Now it looks to me like he may have just gotten confused as to what was acceptable, what was not.

I sent him a polite e-mail asking him to take down the content that I did no intend to share within 7 days and explaining the action I would take if he did not do so.

I'll post on this thread if there are more developments
__________________
Free Webpage Templates - free templates to start your site, updated weekly
103 Ways To Get Traffic And Monetize Your Site - Stumped on what to do to improve your site? Look here for some suggestions
Dozens of Webpage Tools - Test your site speed, check your page rank, so who is linking to you, generate **** tags, and more, all from here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:41 PM
Acapulco Acapulco is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acapulco
Posts: 113
Default

And this scumbag's reviews are copied from PokerListings... actually, he basically copied every page of his site from someone else.

I miss old fashioned justice.
__________________
Cheers,

Acapulco
poker sites
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:23 PM
PPP PPP is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,695
Default

Don't send thieving scum "polite emails". Give him 48 hours to remove the content or you will contact the affilaite programs the thief has deals with and have them close the accounts.

The whole site is stolen. Please edit your original post to break the links to his site (put an X in front of the http). We don't want to send any link love to a thief.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2006, 11:51 PM
adioking's Avatar
adioking adioking is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 1,575
Default

adfa
__________________
Play mac poker and mac casino games, and read poker articles at online poker mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google SEO Questions edmc Search Engine Optimization 1 09-23-2007 01:10 AM
My first site, please review (a very newbie site) My-Poker-Review.com New Affiliate Q&A - Site Reviews 9 03-06-2007 10:23 AM
Rakeback site possibly for sale, lets talk RBseller The Poker Affiliate Exchange 2 10-17-2006 10:34 AM
Cool Site of the Day Four2Eight Feet General Poker Affiliate Discussion 10 11-27-2005 12:35 PM
Google SiteMaps Jeremy Search Engine Optimization 6 07-13-2005 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Poker Affiliate Programs Poker News

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2007, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.4.0