Poker Affiliate World
News Forums affiliate network Affiliate Tools Reviews

Go Back   Poker Affiliate World - Poker Affiliate Programs Discussion and Forums > Poker Affiliate Programs - Discussions for Poker Affiliates > General Poker Affiliate Discussion

General Poker Affiliate Discussion The Largest Poker Affiliate Forum in The World. Poker Affiliates, Discuss Poker Affiliate Programs and issues facing the Poker Affiliate Industry Here!

Reply
 
Social Bookmarking Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:01 AM
ThePokerBank's Avatar
ThePokerBank ThePokerBank is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 297
Default Protecting Content

I had a thought the other day about protecting content on websites and so would like to ask a few questions.

1) What measures do you take to stop people from stealing your content?

2) If someone does indeed steal your content and refuse to give you credit, what action can you take?

3) Has anyone ever had any trouble with other people stealing their content?


I would be very interested in hearing some answers to those questions, as I am relatively new to the affiliate business.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2007, 06:44 PM
DealerDan's Avatar
DealerDan DealerDan is online now
Members
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 269
Send a message via AIM to DealerDan
Default

I generally just check http://www.copyscape.com/ every so often. And I'll either contact the person who is stealing the content, or just contact my affiliate manager directly, and they can usually get them to change it real fast.
__________________
Dealer Dan
Owner of the Dealer Dan Gaming Network. Read my article on how to Target and Profit from Freeroll Whores! Also free mentoring to new affiliates; PM me for details. Be sure to check out the Poker Affiliate Bible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:29 PM
losercore's Avatar
losercore losercore is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mad City USA
Posts: 1,279
Default

Yea in the poker affiliate industry it's pretty easy to stop this stuff qquick. If you notice it AND can prove it, just contact your AM and most sites will warn them about it and then the good sites will, after a warning, stop affiliating with them. unless they are bringing in huge numbers. But the sites bringing in huge nimbers are not worried about copying content.
__________________
"Doing nothing is very hard to do...you never know when you're finished. "
But while playing online poker at Full Tilt Poker I use a Full Tilt Bonus Code to get a sign up deposit bonus. Duh!

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2007, 10:58 PM
Knuder12 Knuder12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Default

holy sh*t... i just checked that website and my site's pretty new so i didn't think there would be any sites copying mine yet... but sure enough there is! It's literally the exact same site, stolen, and with a new domain...
My site: www.bonus-center.com
Stolen Version: www.universalpokers.com

So what actions can i take regarding this? Is there anything I can do to stop this in the future?

Wow, i'm kind of in shock that someone would copy an entire website so blatantly. That's ridiculous.
__________________
Pitbull Poker : Bonus-Center.com : Me broke, that's an oxymoron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2007, 12:24 AM
PartyForFree PartyForFree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuder12
holy sh*t... i just checked that website and my site's pretty new so i didn't think there would be any sites copying mine yet... but sure enough there is! It's literally the exact same site, stolen, and with a new domain...
My site: www.bonus-center.com
Stolen Version: www.universalpokers.com

So what actions can i take regarding this? Is there anything I can do to stop this in the future?

Wow, i'm kind of in shock that someone would copy an entire website so blatantly. That's ridiculous.
Ah, irony is great...isn't it....

You stole your images from PokerListings, and that guy re-stole them from you.

Granted, his blatant rip off of your entire site is ridiculous, but to a lesser extent you're guilty of the same thing.
__________________
http://www.partyforfree.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2007, 01:26 AM
Brandon's Avatar
Brandon Brandon is online now
Affiliate Manager - Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,096
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Send a message via MSN to Brandon Send a message via Skype™ to Brandon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartyForFree
Ah, irony is great...isn't it....

You stole your images from PokerListings, and that guy re-stole them from you.

Granted, his blatant rip off of your entire site is ridiculous, but to a lesser extent you're guilty of the same thing.
and then you copied partypokers design
__________________
Brandon Berndt
Affiliate Program Director
ChanPoker.com
ChanPoker Affiliate Program *NOW LIVE*
Skype: BrandonBerndt
Msn:
AIM: BrandonBerndt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2007, 08:37 AM
PartyForFree PartyForFree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon
and then you copied partypokers design
With written consent from my AM.
__________________
http://www.partyforfree.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:18 AM
SunPoker.com's Avatar
SunPoker.com SunPoker.com is offline
Affiliate Managers
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuder12
My site: www.bonus-center.com
Stolen Version: www.universalpokers.com

So what actions can i take regarding this? Is there anything I can do to stop this in the future?

Wow, i'm kind of in shock that someone would copy an entire website so blatantly. That's ridiculous.
First, contact the webmaster and tell them your concern and you will take action if things haven't been rectified in X amount of days.

If that doesn't work, contact the AM's at the poker rooms to have them contact the affiliate. Let them AM know that you had your site up first (assuming you did) and tell them to take action.

I have contacted many affiliates about this in the past and been able to resolve these issues.

Regards,
Mark
__________________
SunPoker.com
Focalclick Affiliate Program
---
$1,000 Bonus Monthly
$10K Freeroll Monthly
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2007, 07:32 PM
Knuder12 Knuder12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Default Liar

Quote:
Ah, irony is great...isn't it....

You stole your images from PokerListings, and that guy re-stole them from you.
False... Those images are not stolen from pokerlistings. They're not even pokerlistings images. I emailed them before i used them about them and they belong to the individual sites, all of which have given me permission to use them. Nice try though...
__________________
Pitbull Poker : Bonus-Center.com : Me broke, that's an oxymoron
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2007, 10:39 PM
PartyForFree PartyForFree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuder12
False... Those images are not stolen from pokerlistings. They're not even pokerlistings images. I emailed them before i used them about them and they belong to the individual sites, all of which have given me permission to use them. Nice try though...
Really? Oh...my mistake....I wasn't aware that all of the sites made 17x17 .png files with the same beveled edges.

Now THIS is weird though....

Titan Poker screenshot from PokerListings:
http://www.pokerlistings.com/pop-gra...=Titan%20Poker

Titan Poker screenshot from bonus-center.com
http://www.bonus-center.com/sites/Titan.jpg

Hmm....Odd that you're both logged in with the same account.



Mansion Poker screenshot from PokerListings:
http://www.pokerlistings.com/pop-gra...ansion%20Poker

Mansion Poker screenshot from bonus-center.com:
http://www.bonus-center.com/sites/Mansion2.jpg

Wow...can you even imagine the odds of getting dealt the same cards, against the same opponents as they guys at PokerListings did when they took their screenshots? You should buy a lottery ticket.

I'm not going to bother posting all of them, as my point has been made.

You might want to rethink your "Nice try though" comment.
__________________
http://www.partyforfree.net
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash Course in CMS ThePokerBank Web Design Q&A 7 03-23-2007 10:25 AM
framed content, sitemaps, spiders xpertadvice4u Search Engine Optimization 1 02-09-2007 12:49 PM
Gambling Content Website for sale $2500+ per Month Verfiable! LadyHoldem The Spam Forum 0 01-21-2007 02:51 AM
CONTENT! Orginal Fresh Unique Gambling Content LadyHoldem The Spam Forum 1 12-11-2006 06:17 PM
Content Farms vs. Idea Sites Brandon General Poker Affiliate Discussion 1 06-11-2006 04:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Poker Affiliate Programs Poker News

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2007, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.4.0